Mr. Kwabena Yeboah, President of the Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) has advised members to show commitment and dedication towards the Association.

Speaking at the end of year e – meeting to select award winners for the year under review, he said only a few have exhibited real commitment and they would be honoured at the next 48th awards ceremony which comes off at the Accra International Conference Center on January 12, 2024.

He observed that SWAG has in the past rewarded some personalities who did not show any commitment to the Association afterwards, so henceforth, the awards committee and the President will scrutinize who wins the prestigious SWAG Sports Journalist of the year and President’s Award.

Five Top Long Serving Sports Journalists To Be Honoured

For this year, five personalities who have been working hard for over three decades in various sectors of the media such as online, print, television, radio and social media have been considered, they have also specialized in reporting on women sports, boxing, golf and other disciplines.

They are former Vice President Maurice Quansah. former Treasurer Rosalind Koramah Amoh, former Executive Member Barima Otuo Achaeampong of Kumasi, the Ashanti Region, Mr. George Kuntu Blankson of the Western Region and former Deputy General Secretary the one and only Sammy Heywood Okine aka General One.

Over 40 personalities and organisations will be honored at the 48th MTN SWAG Awards.

Meanwhile, many SWAG members are over joyed with the naming of General One due to his passion, dedication, commitment and motivation and inspiration to young sports journalists.

ALSO READ  2022 TotalEnergies CAF Women’s Africa Cup of Nations: Preview of knockout stage

By Elizabeth Alhassan Gyamfi

AMA GHANA is not responsible for the reportage or opinions of contributors published on the website.