The National Democratic Congress (NDC) former Member of Parliament (MP) for Nadowli Kaleo and former second deputy speaker of the 7th Parliament, Alban Kingsford Sumani Bagbin, has provisionally been elected Speaker for the 8th Parliament of the Fourth Republic.

After the voting process from January 6-7, this year, Mr Bagbin went ahead with two extra votes.

Speaker of the 7th Parliament, Prof. Aaron Mike Oquaye was a contestant in the race to be the Speaker of the 8th Parliament.

Mr Bagbin is said to have polled 138 votes while Prof Oquaye polled 136 votes respectively, with one spoilt ballot. The results are provisionally.

ALSO READ  Soccer Talent Hunt train passes through Bono and Ahafo Regions
AMA GHANA is not responsible for the reportage or opinions of contributors published on the website.