Aspiring parliamentary candidate of the ruling New Patriotic Party, (NPP) for Ahafo Ano South West Constituency, Prof Peter Twumasi is organising a session to recognize women in the constituency as part of activities to observe the International Day of Rural Women on Sunday, October 15, 2023, in Abodease in the Ashanti region.

Under the theme “Rural Women Cultivating Good Food For All”, is aimed at exposing the rural women in the area to some expert demonstrations of farming through the usage of technology. With the significant contribution of rural women towards Ghana’s development, the session would explore Women’s health promotion, rural women’s participation in local governance and opportunities for the rural women to recount their experiences as farmers.

The former head of the Department of Biochemistry and Biotechnology, College of Science at KNUST is seeking to represent his constituents in parliament on the flag of the ruling NPP.

“Women in this country and my Constituency have done so well. They have played important roles in ensuring that Ghana is well fed and it’s about time we acknowledge them for them to feel appreciated. So in my small way, I want to honour them to celebrate the International Day of Rural Women”.

According to the United Nations, women make up more than 40 percent of the agricultural labour force in developing countries, ranging from 20 percent in Latin America to 50 percent or more in parts of Africa and Asia

October 15 has been set aside by the United Nations to celebrate the crucial roles women and girls play in ensuring the sustainability of rural households and communities, improving rural livelihoods and overall wellbeing. Women account for a substantial proportion of the agricultural labour force, including informal work, and perform the bulk of unpaid care and domestic work within families and households in rural areas.

ALSO READ  Volta Region: First Lady Rebecca opens NEWIG Office Complex to empower women
AMA GHANA is not responsible for the reportage or opinions of contributors published on the website.