The just ended NPP Presidential Election, which saw Vice President Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia win the NPP Flagbearership, cannot pass without a close observation of how NPP Female-MPs from the Ashanti region garnered massive votes for the Vice President that contributed highly to his historic victory.

Dr. Bawumia made history on Saturday, November 4th 2023, with 61.43% of valid votes to become the first NPP Vice President to win a major contest to emerge as the Party’s obvious choice to face John Mahama and the NDC in the Ghana 2024 General Elections next year.

It had long been predicted Bawumia was going to win but the elections indeed lived up to the already charged showdown atmosphere as anticipated against his closest rival Kennedy Ohene Agyapong.

Ken Agyapong, the Member of Parliament for Assin Central came second with 37.41%.

Dr Owusu Afriyie Akoto came third with 0.76% while Francis Addai Nimoh was last with 0.41%.

It is worth noting that from all the indicators and fall-out, the female MPs in Ashanti Region have demonstrated readiness to once again lead the charge to activate in full swing the biggest dream of the NPP to break the status quo of Ghana’s 8-year political cycle dubbed ‘BreakingThe8.’

Below is the full details of how votes from NPP Women-led Constituencies in the Ashanti Region worked the magic for the chosen one Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia:

1) Juaben (Hon Ama Pomaa Boateng)
Ken 35.1%
Bawumia 64.9%

2) Afigya Sekyere East (Hon Mavis Nkansah Boadu)
Ken 37.7%
Bawumia 62.0%

3) Nsuta Kwamang-Beposo(Hon Adelaide Ntim)
Ken 35.7%
Bawumia 62.0%

ALSO READ  Ablekuma South Parliamentary Aspirant Rita Akweley Addotey Targets Roads, Jobs, Support For Traders

4) Kwabre East (Hon Francisca Oteng Mensah)
Ken 41.3%
Bawumia 58.1%

5) Asokwa (Hon Patricia Appeagyei)
Ken 44.5%
Bawumia 54.8%

AMA GHANA is not responsible for the reportage or opinions of contributors published on the website.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here